Minutes of the Called Meeting of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate met on Wednesday, June 8, 1988 in the Senate Room of the University Center with Michael Stoune, president, presiding. Senators present at this special session were Barr, Burnett, Cartwright, Couch, Coulter, Craig, Finn, Fish, Gettel, Gustafson, Hall, Hayes, Hildebrand, Hildreth, Howe, Kerner, Kimmel, Long, Mathis, Peters, Reid, Rogers, Samson, Savage, Schoenecke, Smith, Strauss, Trost, Wagner, Whitsitt, and M. Wilson. Senators Bravo, Dometrius, Ethridge, McClendon, Mehta, Peters, Vann and Westney were absent because of university business. Senator Rinehart is on leave from the university. Senators Barnard, Koh, Lee, Mann, Payne, Petrini, Sasser, J. Wilson and Wood were absent.

President Stoune called the meeting to order at 3:36 p.m. and recognized the following guests: Virginia Sowell, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs and Research, Eugene Payne, Vice President for Finance and Administration: Joe Sanders, Director, News & Publications; Neale Pearson, Political Science; Guy Lawrence, <u>University Daily</u>; Kim Trainor, Avalanche Journal; Arcie Chapa and Dwayne Conder from Channel 11.

#### I. Announcements

President Stoune announced that the following senators have been appointed to serve on the Faculty Senate's Committee on Committees: Robert Long, Agriculture; Rinaldo Petrini, Architecture; David Payne, Arts & Sciences, Grant Savage, Business Administration; Bertina Hildreth, Education, Kishor Mehta, Engineering, Betty Wagner, Home Economics, and Robert Wood, School of Law.

The Faculty Senate's Faculty Status and Welfare Committee has continued to work on the Section 125 provisions. A meeting to be held June 14, Drane Hall, Room 168, will be open to any interested persons.

President Stoune announced the appointment of the following persons to serve on an ad hoc committee to review the Senate Constitution and Bylaws: Georgette Gettel, Panze Kimmel, Jimmy Smith, Margaret Wilson and Kary Mathis, who will convene the committee.

#### II. Report on Academic Council, May 17th meeting

President Stoune reported that the Library review of periodicals is continuing and the list of lightly-used periodicals will be circulated for faculty review in the fall.

An endowment in memory of Gloria Lyerla has been established to provide funds for library staff to travel to other libraries and workshops.

Apparently, substantial numbers of faculty members have responded in considerable detail to the evaluation of administrators.

June 8 minutes/2

# III. Presidential Search Process

President Stoune outlined the presidential selection process and procedures and indicated the Senate participation in nominating faculty members to the Search and the Advisory Committees. Nominees are: Michael Stoune, Ernest Fish, Sue Tolleson Rinehart, Julia Whitsitt, and William Gustafson.

## IV. Qualifications

President Stoune announced that the ad hoc committee to draft the statement of presidential qualifications for Senate consideration June 29th are: Georgette Gettel, Maryanne Reid, and Ernest Fish.

President Stoune also asked senators to make every effort to attend the June 29th meeting and encourage others to do so.

Comments received regarding qualifications for the president of TTU:

- (1) In light of statements in the Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, the Senate should urge that candidates have academic backgrounds.
- (2) Senator Cartwright recalled that the previous selection called for a medical school dean and asked if the same requirements apply in this selection.
- (3) Senator Whitsitt asked that qualifications be stated to urge academic as opposed to professional background.
- (4) Senator Howe asked that faculty members be allowed to nominate individuals.
- (5) Senator Ketner moved that all voting faculty members be asked for their suggestions for presidential qualifications with a special separate mailing. The motion passed.

Senator Wilson stressed that these comments be conveyed to the Search Committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kary Mathis Secretary 1988-89

Board Minutes May 13, 1988 Attachment No. M4 Item M124

## 01.04 Selection of a New President

- (1) The Board of Regents shall name a Selection Committee, which shall be comprised of two subcommittees, a Search Committee and an Advisory Committee. The Search Committee shall be composed of four Regents, two Texas Tech University faculty members and one Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center faculty member [and-three-facility members]. The Advisory Committee shall be composed of four [two] Regents, two Texas Tech University students, one Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center student, two Texas Tech University former students, one Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center student, two Texas Tech University former students, one Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center form each independently organized college and school of Texas Tech University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center [eight-faculty-members-including-one-from-each college-and-two-from-Texas-Tech-University-Health-Sciences-Center].
  - (A) The Search Committee shall receive, review, and screen all applications and either accept or reject the candidates. It will prepare a final list of candidates, who will be interviewed by the Selection Committee, prior to an interview by the Board of Regents.
  - (B) The Advisory Committee shall evaluate each candidate, using criteria established by the Board of Regents as guidelines.
- (2) The Board of Regents shall determine the criteria to be considered in selecting a new President.
- (3) The Board of Regents shall select a President.

COMMITTEES FOR SELECTION OF PRESIDENT

#### SELECTION

#### Search Committee

Advisory Committee

Larry D. Johnson, Chairman Jerry Ford J. L. Gulley, Jr. Rex Fuller Wesley W. Masters, Chairman Carey Hobbs J. Fred Bucy Wm. Gordon McGee, M.D.

To Name Faculty and Others to Serve on Both Committees

Wendell Mayes, Jr. Wesley W. Masters Larry D. Johnson